About us
Get information about the history of the agency, its activities and branches networks, as well as its accountability here
About us
  • CategoryAgency



The Azerbaijan Energy Regulatory Agency (AERA) regulates and inspects issues related to electricity, gas and heat supply. Established with the Presidential Decree №1750 by the 22nd of December 2017, the Agency operates as a public legal entity under the Ministry of Energy. After liquidation of two state bodies under the Ministry of Energy  as the State Energy Control Administration and the State Gas Control Administration of the Ministry of Energy,  the assets and liabilities of the abolished bodies were passed to the Agency. 

In April 2018, the Agency started its business operations.

AERA consists of the Management Board, departments, divisions and units operating in the headquarters of the Agency, as well as via its branches located in the regions of Azerbaijan. 


AERA carries out regulatory and inspection (supervisory) functions over enterprises operating in electricity, gas and heat supply industry, as well as over consumers.

Legal bases of our core business activities

The following laws have been amended for the Agency's activities:

"On energy";
"On electric power";
"On gas supply";
"On power and heating stations".

To ensure the financial independence of the Agency, the "Rules for calculating and paying the amount of fees paid by enterprises operating in the field of electricity, heat and gas supply to the Energy Regulatory Agency" were approved by the Ministry of Energy on March 5, 2018. On 1st March 2018, the staff list and cost estimates of the Agency were approved by the Order No. 26 of the Ministry of Energy. 

In accordance with the Agency’s Charter, in order to determine the control procedures carried out by the Agency, the "Rules for control in the field of electricity and heat, as well as gas supply" were approved by Presidential Decree No. 204 dated July 16 2018

Branches networks

AERA currently has 11 branches located in Baku, Ganja, Sumgayit, Lankaran, Shirvan, Mingachevir, Sheki, Tovuz, Khachmaz, Kurdamir and Imishli.

Clause 1.7 of the regulations approved by the Order No. F-79 of the Ministry of Energy dated July 9, 2020 establishes the areas of activity of the branches.

In order to ensure the activities of the Agency in the liberated territories of the Karabakh region of the Republic of Azerbaijan, by Order of the Ministry of Energy No. F-28 dated March 30, 2021

  • Statement on the activities of the Ganja branch of the Kelbajar region;
  • The cities of Shusha and Khankendi, Jabrayil, Gubadli, Zangilan, Lachin, Khojavend and Khojaly regions are included in the scope of the Imishli branch.

By Order No. 3-15/3-2-175/2024 of the Ministry of Energy dated April 8, 2024

  • Aghdara region is included in the activity area of Mingachevir branch.

Taking into account the workload of branches and inter-district distances

  • Aghdam region was removed from the territory of Imishli branch and included in the territory of Mingachevir branch;
  • Zardab region was removed from the territory if Imichli branch and included in the territory of Kurdamir branch;
  • Gabala region was removed from the territory of Kurdamir branch and included in the territory of Sheki branch.